Sunday, February 22, 2009

Poland : Stamp for 1974 FIFA World Cup

Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 1974:

The 1974 FIFA World Cup, the tenth staging of the World Cup, was held in West Germany from 13 June to 7 July. West Germany had been chosen in July 1966 as hosts by FIFA. The tournament marked the first time that the current trophy, the FIFA World Cup Trophy, created by the Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga, was awarded. The previous trophy, the Jules Rimet Trophy, was won for the third time by Brazil in 1970 and awarded permanently to the Brazilians. The host nation won the title beating the Netherlands in the final, 2-1. The victory was the second for West Germany, who had won in 1954.
1974 FIFA World Cup official logo:

No comments: