Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Legends of Baseball

I have posted some stamps of this series earlier, From today I will continue to publish rest of stamps with brief history of the each player.....

Monday, May 30, 2011

1st South Pacific Games

Hello Friends
After gap of almost one and half year I am back to action now. Today I am posting this First Day Cover for First South Pacific Games held in Fiji. This used cover was send by Dr. Koos from South Africa. I hope you will like this post.

The Pacific Games (formerly known as the South Pacific Games) is a multi-sport event, much like the Olympics (albeit on a much smaller scale), with participation exclusively from countries around the South Pacific. It is held every four years and began in 1963, hosted by Suva, Fiji.
The idea of holding the South Pacific Games originated with Dr A.H. Sahu Khan who was one of Fiji's representatives at a meeting of the South Pacific Commission held at Rabaul during 1959. The idea was adopted and led to a meeting of nine Territories, held in Nouméa during March 1961, which awarded Fiji the honour of hosting the very first Games

Pacific Games Council
The games governing body is the Pacific Games Council. The Games council flag is presented to the host nation of the next games at the end of every games. With expansion and economic growth in the Pacific and Oceania countries of the Pacific Islands it was now appropriate for the South Pacific Games Council to modernise and revise its charter in light of these changes in the region and the changing place of Sport in our society, thus the council adapted a new charter in 2007.
The current President of the Council is Vidya Larkhan from Fiji.

South Pacific Games Locations
• 1963 - Suva, Fiji
• 1966 - Nouméa, New Caledonia
• 1969 - Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
• 1971 - Papeete, Tahiti
• 1975 - Guam
• 1979 - Suva, Fiji
• 1983 - Apia, Western Samoa
• 1987 - Nouméa, New Caledonia
• 1991 - Port Moresby/Lae, Papua New Guinea
• 1995 - Papeete, Tahiti
• 1999 - Guam
• 2003 - Suva, Fiji
• 2007 - Apia, Samoa
• 2011 - Nouméa, New Caledonia
• 2015 - Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea