Thursday, July 21, 2011

UAE : The 18th Arabian Gulf Cup

To commemorate the historic victory of the UAE Football Team in the 18th Arabian Gulf Cup, Emirates Post has issued a set of commemorative stamps in two denominations (Dh. 1 and Dhs. 3), along with a souvenir sheet.

The 18th Arabian Gulf Cup - Abu Dhabi 2007
The Arabian Gulf Cup Championship generates great excitement among football lovers and fans in the Arab world in general and in the GCC in particular. This tournament attracts football teams from all GCC countries, in addition to Yemen.

The Arabian Gulf Cup championship is held once every two years. It has developed into one of the biggest football tournaments in the region, since its modest beginnings in Manama, Bahrain, generating interest among soccer lovers across the Arab world and getting wide coverage in the media.

The Gulf Cup was launched in 1968 during the Summer Olympic Games in Mexico. The countries that took part in the first tournament were Bahrain, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Qatar. The first championship was held in Bahrain.

As a result of the rising popularity of the event, the 18th Gulf Cup, held in the national capital of Abu Dhabi, attracted a huge number of spectators and soccer fans from across the region. The national football team of the United Arab Emirates Won this prestigious tournament for the first time in its history, unleashing waves of celebrations across the country.

No comments: