Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Beautiful Australian Cover

I have received one more awesome cove from Australia, sent by Robin. This time with 2004 Gold Medalist and 2008 Beijing Olympic stamps on cover, as well as Mint and used stamps for 2000 Sydney Olympics stamps inside the cover. 3 Olympics in a cover………….. Great :)

Ryan Bayley :
Born in Perth, Western Australia, Bayley started competitive cycling in 1997 at fifteen years of age. He is a member of the Albany Cycling Club and employed by the Australian Institute of Sport.
Bayley won gold medals for the Sprint and Team Sprint track cycling events at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester.
His greatest success as a track cyclist came in the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens, where he won gold medals in the sprint and Keirin events.

Anna Meares :
Anna Meares started competitive cycling at the age of 11 in 1994, following her older sister Kerrie Meares into the sport. The family were inspired to take up competitive cycling by Kathy Watt winning a cycling gold medal at the 1994 Commonwealth Games. With the family living in the small Queensland coal-mining town of Middlemount, it was more than two hours drive to the nearest cycling track at Mackay for the girls to train.
During the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, she won a gold medal, and set a new world record in the Women's 500 metre time trial of 33.952 seconds. Meares had to beat a new Olympic record set just minutes previously by the reigning World Record holder, Yonghua Jiang of China. (See Cycling at the 2004 Summer Olympics). The event was abolished from the Olympic program so Meares could not defend her title in 2008.
Meares also won a bronze medal in the Women's 200m Sprint event in Athens.

This commemorative issue for the Beijing Olympics features the three sports of basketball, cycling and gymnastics, events that Australia has representatives in.
Incorporated into the design of the three stamps are the Olympic rings and the number eight. This number is auspicious in Chinese culture and fittingly, the Beijing Games will start at 8.00 pm on the eighth day of the eighth month in the year 2008.
This issue was designed by Hobart-based Lynda Warner who is one of Australia's foremost graphic designers. Lynda has designed other stamps for Australia Post including Outback Services (2001), Australian Antarctic Research (2002) and Aviation in the AAT (2005).

Australia Issued these stamps for 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. Commencing with the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games during the Summer and Winter Olympic Games, stamps featuring Australians who have won an Olympic gold medal are issued on the next postal business day after the achievement.

No comments: